The APAFT & AAP Emerging Playwright Commission Program is a partnership with Asian American Pacific Friends of the Theatre (APAFT) to support an emerging Asian American playwright. The commission comes with a $1,000 award, institutional and artistic support to help advance their work on the commissioned play and a public staged reading.

2021 Recipient
Ankita Raturi

Ankita Raturi | अंकिता रतूड़ी (she/her) grew up in and around the capital cities of India, Indonesia, and the United States. Her first audio play, Backwaters, was recently released on Apple Podcasts and Spotify as part of UCSD’s Wagner New Play Festival. Ankita has developed new plays at UCSD, NYU, Page Break (SoHo Playhouse), Atlantic Pacific Theatre, The Hearth Theater, Hypokrit Theatre Company, New York Shakespeare Exchange, Pete’s Candy Store, and Natyabharati. Her devised work with co-creator Charlotte Murray has been seen at Fresh Ground Pepper, Corkscrew Theater Festival, and Dixon Place. Ankita’s first poetry collection was performed in 2019 at Dixon Place. She is currently pursuing her M.F.A. in Playwriting at UCSD, and holds a B.F.A. in Drama from the NYU Tisch School of the Arts (Playwrights Horizons Theater School). @ankitawrites

Finalists for the 2021 APAFT & AAP Emerging Playwright Commission were Kathryn de la Rosa, Lisa Sanaye Dring and Mary Lyon Kamitaki